Daily Archives: April 2, 2009

What On Earth Is Gary Teale Doing Getting A Game For Scotland

Ok.  So Scotland had a lot of injury problems for the last 2 World Cup qualifiers.  Add to this the 2 numptys who decided to get wasted at the weekend between matches….. I mean come on.  How stupid do you have to be???  One gets his first full start against the Netherlands and the other is the captain of his Country who is not playing particularly well for club or country.  If there were ever 2 players who shouldn’t be getting smashed between crucial matches, it was these 2.  I am no Rangers fan, but I do know many a Rangers fan who would like to see the back of the Scottish drinkers at the club.  Lets face it Kris Boyd always looks like he’s had 3 or 4 pints the night before, when he plays.  I guess whats so frustrating for all involved is that McGregor, Ferguson and Boyd all have bags and bags of potential.  Why can’t they just stay off the drink until they retire or at least stay off it during the season?  It’s not a huge sacrifice and they’d be better players for it.  Too many players have fallen foul of this cycle.  Charlie Miller is the perfect example.  Bags of talent, but we used to see him in our local pub downing pints and smoking fags all the time!  So whilst it came as no surprise – especially that McGregor was involved! – it is really still disappointing.   However, even with these 2 players missing and all the injury worries we had, I still cannot get over the fact that Gary Teale still gets a game for Scotland.  Don’t get me wrong.  He’s not an awful player, but he is certainly not international class.  My friend summed it up when he said he hoped he continued to be picked because if Gary Teale is in the squad he himself feels he still has a chance to play football for Scotland!  Poor Gary.  I shouldn’t single him out for criticism.  No, I should save that for the woeful Gary Caldwell.  The over the hill Gary Naismith and the man with the worst first touch in world football Kenny Miller.  The latter of course is passionate, he works his little socks off and has to be admired for his commitment and passion……..oh dear.  That’s all I’ve got for him.  Come on, he blamed the sticky pitch for wasting his chance against the Dutch – didn’t see the pitch bothering Arjen Robben as he ripped our defence to shreds!  It’s not all doom and gloom.  We do have class players in Craig Gordon, Alan Hutton, Darren Fletcher, Scott Brown and the exceptional prospect Ross McCormack.  I also like the look of James Morrison (though I’m sure he’s actually a singer-songwriter) and with James McFadden to come back and a host of good young players coming through we should be ok in the future.  I do really think that Walter Smith needs to get a hold of John Fleck now though and tell him not to hang about with Ferguson, McCulloch, McGregor, Boyd  etc.  If he’s as good as they say he is then lets hope he can stay away from the booze and the nightclubs.  I actually read Barry Ferguson say the other week that Fleck is a young lad who is bound to get caught coming out of a nightclub and get himself into trouble??  Why??  Cause he’s Scottish???

Anyways, at least we’re back in the chase for 2nd spot.  I think the Dutch are home and dry in terms of qualification – unless they come across some sticky pitches in their next few matches.


Team Turnip @ Limbo This Evening

So tonight I am playing piano and a little korg for my friend Russell Kostulin, aka Team Turnip, at Limbo at the Voodoo Rooms.  Think we’re on stage about 8.30pm if anyone is about and fancies some sunshine pop.  Well I say sunshine pop but Russell’s songs may sound bright and summery but there are seriously dark undertones to his lyrics.  I mean, the boy sings about self harm among other things.  I have to admit, I never thought I’d enjoy playing such jup beat music but I absolutely love his tunes.  He’s going back in the studio to record some more tracks this month and I believe his plans are to either release 2 EPs or 1 album later this year.  And he won’t disappoint, trust me.  The man is an instrumental genius and his songs are just lovely slices of perfect pop.  His influences range from Belle and Sebastain (yuck) through Sufjan Stevens (yay) and I can guarantee his EP/album will be something special when it’s released later this year.  Anyways, I am really looking forward to this evening.  It’s always nice to play music for other people.  I get to play piano and just enjoy myself without the stress and hassle of organising everything and having to talk on stage.  Life is much easier when I don’t have to open my mouth.

On Sunday the Kays are back on the live scene as well.  We’re playing Sneaky Pete’s at a night organised by Glasgow based promoters Blue Panda.  We are on the same bill as Come On Gang! and Vendor Defendor.  Not entirely sure how we will work on that bill, but we have the Tuts gig next Saturday and very much using this show to warm up for that.  It will be a sad occasion though as it will be our last Edinburgh show with the current line up.  After Tuts bot Jake and Grant will be leaving the band and we will be moving on to pastures new.  Also after Tuts, we will be taking a break to get the album finished and ready to go and will not be back until August I think when we play the Leith Tape Club.  Anyways, looking forward to the shows in the next couple of weeks.  So if you’re free tonight or Sunday please come along and support Team Turnip and The Kays.  If you are really adventurous, give me a shout and I can sort you out with a ticket for King Tuts next Saturday.  Should be a good one.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers