I Couldn’t Be Happier

So tomorrow we play King Tuts supporting the excellent Sennen. It’s going to be a great night but a really emotional one too because it will be both Jake and Grant’s last ever gig for the Kays. It’s kind of sad. Jake has been in the Kays for about 4 years now and is one of my best friends in the world. But these things happen and to be honest, both Graeme and I are very positive about the future. I was thinking last night about being left behind in terms of the Edinburgh music scene etc and it does frustrate me a little that we are not offered the same opportunities as other bands, perhaps because we are not part of the clique or there is no buzz about us at the moment. But then I thought to myself, I am a very lucky boy. I have Neil Pennycook of Meursault recording my album. I have a potential record label – and a fucking great one in my eyes. I have had a film made about my band by a wonderful up and coming Scottish film maker, who again recently used one of my new songs for a short film he made whilst in South Africa. The result is stunning and makes me very proud. On top of this, I have a new project in the pipeline with one of the best young photographers I’ve ever known and I am soooo excited about this. It’s very much in its infancy, but if it works, and I am sure it will, then it’s going to be something I’ll treasure always. So do I feel lucky? Yes I do. The album is out this year, there will hopefully a further ep later in the year and when I look back at all the things I’ve done so far I am pretty proud. But I am more excited about what lies ahead in the future. So yes, tomorrow will be the end of something, but it will be more about a new beginning, and one I am sure is going to be nothing but positive. I for one couldn’t be happier with life right now.

About thesteinbergprinciple

my name is euan. i run mini50 records in edinburgh. i am also a musician releasing music under the names The Kays Lavelle, Graveyard Tapes and glacis. in my spare time, i write this blog. View all posts by thesteinbergprinciple

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

