Top Ten Of 2011- Number 7. A Winged Victory for the Sullen

Coming in at number 7 in my top 10 of 2011 is the wonderful debut record by A Winged Victory for the Sullen or, if you know the artists individually, Dustin O’Halloran and Adam Wiltzie (Stars of the Lid/Sleepingdog).

I have to be honest, I am not sure why I would place this record higher than Tim Hecker’s ‘Ravedeath, 1972’.  My only explanation is that I am a total sucker for a good bit of piano and Dustin O’Halloran never fails to deliver on that front.  I mean, I think the honest truth of the matter is that if you know the music of each individual in this project, then you will have a fair idea of what is on offer from A Winged Victory.  In a nutshell the record mixes melancholic piano with sonorous, droning soundscapes.  Somewhere, in the middle of the two’s individual work, is where this record falls.  But this is no bad thing because together they have created a quite beautiful record which I could drift away on for hours on end.

I could harp on about this record a little more or alternatively I could suggest that you read my review of it here.

You can check out A Winged Victory for the Sullen here.  Enjoy.

About thesteinbergprinciple

my name is euan. i run mini50 records in edinburgh. i am also a musician releasing music under the names The Kays Lavelle, Graveyard Tapes and glacis. in my spare time, i write this blog. View all posts by thesteinbergprinciple

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

