New band on my radar: Trespassers William

Ok, so Rich from Glissando, who is a good friend of mine, runs a lovely little record label called Gizeh.  This label is home to his own band Glissando, the fantasticly dark Her Name Is Calla and the sparse and beautiful Sleepingdog.  He sent me a message a while ago telling me to check out another couple of bands he was hoping to work with.  As always I really did plan to but got caught up with other things and ended up not listening to either of them.  By chance, last night I was speaking to Fraser from Small Town Boredom and he told me to check out a band called Trespassers William who are responsible for one of his all time favourite songs.  I think his exact words were ‘in my humble, but correct opinion’!  Fraser, if you’re reading this – I’ve been busy at work all morning, I’m going for dinner with friends after work and then I’ll probably just work on Kays songs…..(private joke for those who are now lost!)  Anyways, he mentioned that the band were on Gizeh and it immediately rang bells in the back of my head as a band Rich had previously told me to check out!  And I am so glad that I have finally got around to it.  What a great batch of tunes they have up on their myspace page.  Just brilliant.  I don’t normally sit and listen to every track by bands on myspace but last night, with this band, I did.  I fully intend to go back later today as well to listen again.  They are American so unless they plan to head over to the UK I doubt Trampoline will get the chance to put them on – but if they do decide to head our way, I will definitely be asking Rich if we can do their Edinburgh show.  Great band.  Check them out at:

www.myspace.com/trespasserswilliam

Leave a Reply

