Top 5 on Myspace

Given the imminent birth of my first child and the resulting fact that I will be stuck at home for long periods of time, unable to venture out into the world of Edinburgh music for fear of having forgotten what it is to be a musician, fan and how to interact with other humans, I have decided that I am going to do a weekly list of my top 5 bands on myspace.  I spend a lot of time listening to new music – whether it be because of requests to play Trampoline, being pointed in the direction of  a band by a friend or just from general browsing.  So I figure, why not do a weekly list of 5 bands who have grabbed my ears and fucked them good.   This probably won’t start until next week, but hopefully it will result in some excellent discoveries and help some people get heard or read about.

In other news, I heard The Views new song last night.  I don’t like The View and actually can’t stand their previous songs/album.  However, the new song, whilst still pretty uninspiring, is sung with such a distinct Dundonian twang that I cannot help but love it.  If I’m honest, the verse is really good but it goes to pieces at the chorus.  So it’s not that catchy and it’s pretty predictable, but simply for being so Dundonian and so rough I’m going to give it 2 thumbs up.  Well done lads.  It’s a good thing to be Dundonian!

Leave a Reply

