How I fell in love with Fleet Foxes

This is going to sound a little odd or sad but until recently I had never heard anything by Fleet Foxes.  Of course, I had heard all the hype surrounding the band and their debut album but I had also heard the words Crosby, Stills and Nash mentioned and so made a body swerve to avoid the band and the album and wait until the hype all died a death.  Anyways, at one Kays practice both Russell and Graeme swore to me that I’d love the album, infact I think Russell said he’d eat his hat if I didn’t as it was right up my street.  So I bought it.  And I listened a few times.  And I didn’t get it.  Well I did, but not completely.  Anyways, I have been travelling to and from the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary for the past 5 days on a regular basis and after 2 days of having to listen to the pish that people call Radio 1, XFM etc I decided I needed to remember a cd for the car.  It’s not easy to remember things when your drifting from one place to the next without any time to really breathe or think whilst in a sleepless haze!   Anyways, I picked up Fleet Foxes and headed out to the car and since then its been on constantly on my journeys too and from the hospital.  And I have this to say.  It’s genius.  Pure and simple.  I’ve heard a lot of tlak about The Felice Brothers and how good they are and I agree that they are great but give me this simply beautiful album anytime of the day or night and I’d take it.  To be honest, at this moment I’d take it before any other album I own or have heard recently.  It is simply magnificant filled with beautiful song, melodies and harmonies.  Rich with colour and texture.  Atmospheric, haunting, sad and yet remarkably uplifiting and entirely rewarding.  This is the album I will always associated with my little boy.  It will therefore always have a special place in my heart.  Most of all, it’s kept me awake and focused on the way to and from the hospital.  Now I’m home though I plan to have it on repeat for sometime to come.

6 thoughts on “How I fell in love with Fleet Foxes

  1. i have just ordered this album after loving the Radio single, whatever it was called and subsequently the Myspace selection. I doubt it will ever hold such an esteemed place for me that it clearly will for you, but i think i am going to love it none the less! amazing vocals, you don’t hear bands singing together like that very often

  2. Yeah, it wasn’t that that drew me in though I don’t think. At first I thought it just sounded beach boys-esque in terms of the vocals but I wasn’t really listening. But I love the sadness, the quality of the song writing, the little guitar parts which lift the songs, the sound of the vocals rather than the quality of the singing. I love how the mood changes throughout. It’s a beautiful, beautiful album.

  3. darn. I had been avoiding it for all the same reasons. I’ve got nothing left now but to bite the bullet and listen to it. Why do I read these blogs? Oh yeah… they inspire me to listen to good music. Thanks darlin’ xoxo

  4. I’ve been lucky enough to see them twice now and have just got tickets for their gig in September. Hopefully by then you wont be feeling so tired and will make the journey to Glasgow to see them live. One of the best live bands I’ve seen in years.

    Ps. Congrats on the birth of your little boy.

  5. Mmm, not sure I’m at the “wanting to see them live stage” as yet. like I said, it took me ages to actually get the album. TT told me they are stunning live, but to be honest, I think I’ll wait a few years, let the crazy hype die down and then search them out live.

Leave a Reply

