Sparrow and the Workshop, Woodenbox with a Fistful of Fivers and Little Pebble @ Trampoline, Saturday 14th March, 2009.

This was our second birthday show.  I remember last years first birthday show, featuring Cancel the Astronauts and FOUND being a bit of a failure turn out wise, so it was with some trepidation that I set off for the Wee Red Bar on Saturday night.  I was quietly confident that we could generate a good crowd for this show, but like everything else in life nothing is really a guarantee.  So it was a relief to see the turn out on Saturday being so good and the night being an absolute cracker to boot.

Little Pebble was first up.  I’ve always struggled to find a description of his music that I like but I’ve decided that his songs remind me of all the good things about King Creosote with the  lyrical insight of somebody such as Aiden Moffat thrown into the mix.  His set on Saturday, was as ever, laiden with lovely folk songs about loves lost and found and his unique and fascinating take on the places in which we live and the people we encounter along the way.  I never tire of his shows and his set was the perfect start to the evening.

What happened next was a bit of a surprise.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love Woodenbox, I have ever since I first heard Ali’s solo tunes on myspace.  But I have never heard or seen them on such fine form as they were on Saturday night.  What a racket they made!!  And again, that’s not a criticism.  The best part of their set was filled with foot stomping, hand clapping numbers with the brilliant musician ship and gorgeous harmonies not being lost amongst the clatter of the drums and thunderous noise being created.  I loved it.  Every second of it.  They are a brilliant live band and I cannot wait to see them again soon or to get hold of their new recordings once they are available.

And so to our headliners for the evening, Sparrow and the Workshop.  Headline act was difficult to decide at this show as if I’m honest, each of the artists playing could hold their own as a headline act.  However,  these guys have been slowly building up a reputation as one of Scotland’s most exciting new bands and justifiably so.  In front woman Jill O’Sullivan they have one of the best female voices I have heard in a long, long time.  But it’s the songs and the dynamic that these guys have on stage that set them apart from the rest.  The music is by no means Scottish in flavour but everyone should be proud to call them Scottish and everyone should keep an eye on them in the future because they are going to go places.  Their set on Saturday night was as excellent as ever though, for me, the electric guitar playing stood out more than usual, which was a really good thing.  I really am looking forward to their recordings,  pencilled in for release this year, and I can’t wait to have them back at Trampoline in the future.  That said, like Broken Records, if I don’t get them back at Trampoline because I can no longer afford them then I’ll be more than happy with that as it means they’ve moved on to the bigger things that they truly deserve.

Leave a Reply

