The Appleseed Cast – Sagarmatha

It’s been a really fucking weird weekend.  I had a lovely day back in Dundee on Saturday with my parents.  My dad doesn’t travel well so this was the first time he’d had a proper chance to spend time with Roddy.  So we have a lovely, if exhausting day in Dundee.  On Sunday, we did very little, there was nothing out of the ordinary to speak of, just a normal Sunday chilling with some great tunes and good chat.  Then I woke in the middle of the night feeling sick, badly sick.  1 hour later and Pamela was the same.  So we spent all of Sunday night and the whole of Monday tagging in and out of the bathroom and en-suite and having a not very pleasant day of it.  My whole body was drained and weak, I couldn’t walk properly and I just felt exhausted and shocking.  Food poisoning!!!!  I’ve never felt so bad in all my life. So poor Roddy didn’t get his normal attention.  Then all of a sudden, as we started to feel a tiny little more human and were looking forward to a good sleep, Roddy decided it was his turn to be unwell!  He had his 6 week check up this morning and since then we’ve been at the Sick Kids hospital where he is now booked in to have a hernia operation.  He’s a lot better than he was last night, but his crying every single hour has left us completely wrecked.  And to top it all off, my employers seem to think it’s a good idea to paint single yellow lines across the road from an A & E for sick children which has car park for about 25 cars.  What a bunch of ignorant fuck wits.  Though, I am sure they are well aware that that is where everyone will park and that is where they can make their money!  I am more than a little disgusted by the parking ticket I received on my return from a long afternoon in A & E.  So I was tired, worried and angry as I got in the car to come home tonight.  Then I started listening to the Appleseed Cast’s new album ‘Sagarmatha’ and all the tension just drained from me.  This is brilliant stuff.  At first I thought it was going to be fully instrumental as the first tune ‘As the little things go’ kicked on.  But just as I thought the song was approaching a climax, the overdrive pedals kicked in as did the vocals.  What a great surprise!  I love moments like that on albums.  The thing you least expect, just when you least expect it.  I can’t put my finger on who they sound like.  Nobody I know would be my first answer I guess.  But I have to say, weirdly, that I hear a lot of Doves in the melody and the vocals.  Absolutely gorgeous stuff.  It will be on repeat for sometime I think.

I’ve also had the pleasure today of having a sneak listen to the new EP by Trespassers William.  I obviously can’t say much about it other than it’s fucking brilliant and is making me smile a great deal right now.  Or as much as I can after the past few days I’ve had.  Off to bed to recharge some batteries!

2 thoughts on “The Appleseed Cast – Sagarmatha

  1. Is this the same Appleseed Cast that were on Deep Elm records back in the day and cropped up on loads of “Emo Diaries” compilations in the heady misspent days of my youth?

Leave a Reply

