Leith Tape Club @ Iso Bar, 26 March 2009

This is a lovely night.  A great idea by Alan Oates, aka Little Pebble, aka one part of Come In Tokyo…..I could go on.  I won’t.  Anyways, it’s always great to see local artists starting their own nights to benefit the music community in Edinburgh.  Leith has a lot of musicians living there but a serious lack of quality venues, which is a shame as the area itself is full of good bars and places to eat so is usually pretty busy come the weekend.  I myself live in Leith as does Graeme and I think we associated ourselves with the area – though never seem to get noticed by the likes of Leith FM!!!  We’re not really radio friendly anyways though so I’m not too bothered.  Be nice to play the Leith Festival though sometime. 

Anyways, I digress.  So I was doing the door for Alan as a favour last night but its never a burden when the music on offer is so good.  Alan himself opened the night with a new Little Pebble track I first heard at Trampoline.  It’s about pulling a girl he considered to be way out of his league.  When he first told me the story about how he saw her and said ‘you’re way out of my league’ I thought he’d actually said that to her from stage, turns out he said it to himself in his head.  Still, I reckon it’s a good way to start a conversation with somebody you think is way out of your league.  Though it does require you to be performing live music, stand up comedy etc at the time.  Again, I digress.  It’s a lovely tune.  All Alan’s Little Pebble tunes are.  I never tire of hearing him play.  I look forward to the next time.

I’m not going to say much about Jennifer Concannon.  She’s just back from SXSW in Texas and touring California and has an absolutely stunning voice.  If you like your music country/bluesy and full of soul then she is definitely for you.  It’s  not really my cup of tea but she was really good at what she did and I’m sure will do really well in the future. 

Randan Discotheque is new to me.  I know that sounds strange as he is certainly no stranger within the Edinburgh music community.  However, the first time I heard him was on Leith FM last week when he played his song ‘Heather the Weather’ about the famous weather girl from Reporting Scotland.   I was immediately drawn by the sound.  It’s almost very traditional Scottish folk (which I do have a soft spot for) he plays but with an alternative twist.  With drums and a second guitar added last night, his set was fantastic.  I don’t know what the first song was called because he wouldn’t tell us!, but it was one of the highlights of the evening for me.  I really enjoyed his set and hope to have him along to Trampoline in the near future for sure.

Ottersgear.  I’m not going to lie.  It took me a couple of songs to get it.  But I got it.  And I loved it.  One of the oddest voices I’ve heard in a long time but one that added something special to the songs, which ranged from delicate beauty to foot stamping rowdyness.  Backed by one of the best guitarists I’ve seen in a long time this was definitely an artist that I want to hear more of and will be checking out online this weekend.

And finally, Rob St. John.   Rob is somebody whose music I know well.  I own both EPs he’s released and I have had the pleasure of seeing him live on so many occasions in the past.  He’s also played Trampoline a few times and I have never been to a show yet where he has disappointed.  Tonight is a solo performance.  I’ve never seen that before.  He did not disappoint.   I think he played a lot of new tunes mixed with some old favourites, but the highlight of the night was his set opener which had one of the most beautiful guitar motifs I have heard in a long, long, long time.  A work in progress I am led to believe.  I hope he can develop it with his band as I think it has the potential to be an absolute classic.  This was the perfect backdrop for his songs, dark, atmospheric and full of thought and wonder, Rob St. John is definitely a jewel in the Edinburgh music scene.
Anyways, if you are interested in The Leith Tape Club, and you should be, please visit www.littlepebble.co.uk to find out what its all about and help support another excellent music night in this fair city.

5 thoughts on “Leith Tape Club @ Iso Bar, 26 March 2009

  1. Cheers man. I will give this a go. Fingers crossed. Would be nice, being from Leith, to be involved. Good news you guys are playing. Also – are you available for 16th May Trampoline? I did ask Mark. Waiting to hear back.

  2. Oh, I thought he’d already told you – yes, we’d love to play! We’re actually going on Leith FM that morning I think, we’ll put in a good word for you and do a shout out for the gig as well.

  3. thats great man. thanks! be really good to have you guys back. and yeah, give the night a shout out! its a good line up. stormy seas and randan discotheque as well. should be fun. need to get a white heath/kays show at some point this year. maybe you could play if we do an album launch? can discuss.

Leave a Reply

