I Am Trying To Break Your Heart

I’m feeling a little hurt tonight. I’ve basically been accused on another blog of ganging up on a friend and being hurtful and attacking him personally. This could not be further from the truth as I was merely having a discussion in what I thought was a light hearted joke with a friend. However, it is the same old story, having a discussion about a emotive topic on the internet is a seriously dangerous thing. For what I saw as a fairly innocent conversation about music snobbery, others were misconstruing as me attacking a friends opinions and being hurtful. Firstly, let me say this: the person who I am acused of hurting is a very close friend and somebody who I admire and respect. Not only would I not ever attack somebody on a blog I would not argue with somebody seriously on one. When upset by comments made on blogs I have been known to contact the person that upset me by e-mail or text and dealt with it one on one. I find airing dirty laundry in public quite offensive if I am perfectly honest. Tonight I feel hurt though. If people truly believe that the chat was anything other than a difference of opinions then I don’t know what to say. There was no real problem until others started throwing acusations around. Which simply goes a long way to highlight how difficult it is to have a personal conversation by e-mail, text or online. You cannot convey emotion in any way and people get upset, hurt, whatever, even when it is not intended. So tonight I feel shit. 1 because people actually believe that anything said was malicious and 2 because I certainly never intended to offend anyone. Fuck.

6 thoughts on “I Am Trying To Break Your Heart

  1. well sweetie, i’m just now reading this four days later and hoping things are cleared up completely and you’re feeling better. and i’m sorry for any offense i caused, it certainly was not intended, xoxo

  2. It’s more than a little creepy that the title of your post is also the title of the film about Jay Bennett who just passed away yesterday. RIP

  3. Yeah, I just read about Jay Bennett. That’s tragic. He was a massive player in the shape of YHF, which is my favourite album by anyone. ever. 😦

    Anyways, I took no offense to anything you said and was just disappointed to the reaction of some who felt that I’d been hurtful in any way. It’s no biggie. I know I wasn’t. Online communication doesn’t convey emotion or sentiment well so as long as I know I wasn’t being offensive then that’s all that matters to me.

    Plus, you backed me up. So why would I be annoyed with you?

Leave a Reply

