There Will Be Fireworks

album_fireworks[1]

Well those of you who follow songbytoad will know that during my recent 2 week stint over there I posted about these fellows. They had come to my attention because of the lovely people over at Glasgowpodcart who played them on one of their wonderful shows. I sincerely mean that by the way, if you have not already then go check out glasgowpodcart because it’s one of the best podcasts I’ve heard in a long time. The guys do a great job promoting Scottish and unsigned music and deserve to have a really wide audience. Lovely people who really to embrace everything that is good about the Scottish music scene at the moment.

Anyways, after the Megan Fox nonsense yesterday it’s definitely time to get back to writing about music! Not that there’s ever a bad time to enjoy Miss Fox, but she’s not really what this site is about, so I apologise for my little side track and promise my focus is back on music. However,Tart, she did cheer me up. 😉

This is an interesting album for me mainly as I didn’t think anything could drag me away from the new Wilco album at the moment. However, if I’m honest, the sense of anticipation I had regarding this album got the better of me on this occasion and it’s been getting repeat listens since it arrived – to the detriment of Mr Tweedy and co. So far, from what I’ve read, the comparisons to the Twilight Sad have been raining in thickand fast. I think this is unfair. Bar a strong Scottish accent I fail to see a massive connection between the bands. Indeed, if there is a Scottish band that these guys nod their hats to then it would be My Latest Novel. But both these comparisons are a little unfair because this album stands up as an excellent piece of music in its own right. Like I said over at toad, these guys have something more fragile mixed in with the noise. The guitars are eerie and haunting. The vocal changes dramatically from the fragile to the frenzied and the albums soars and dips and soars again keeping you fully immersed in what is going on. My only criticism of the album is that there are moments where I personally want the songs to sustain a certain something and they don’t. Dramatic changes which are difficult to latch on to but then I think perhaps that’s actually what I like so much about the record, that they lure you in and then just as you’re settling into something they unsettle you with an almighty bang. This album is right up my street, this band have the potential to go on to bigger and better things and I certainly look foward to hearing more and more from them in the future as they do. Enjoy.

TSP Grade = A-

4 thoughts on “There Will Be Fireworks

  1. I was just befriending these guys on MySpace and couldn’t remember where I had first heard them. Well, fuck me, of course it was your post, ha! Yes, after hearing a number of tracks over at Under the Radar, I’m smitten. Thanks for sharing them! xoxo

  2. They are class. This album is on repeat on my ipod at the moment. It’s got everything for me. It’s a well thought out piece of music from start to finish. Exactly how an album should be.

Leave a Reply

