T In The Park Here I Come

fans 2 t in the park 2008[1]
So this Sunday I will make my debut trip to both T in the Park and indeed to a music festival of any kind. I wouldn’t normally even have considered this, especially given that the line up is not particularly good this year, but it’s a free ticket and I am not really one to turn down free music. Plus, there are some plus points on the Sunday, Mogwai, Elbow, Doves, the Twilight Sad to name a few. But for the most part, it looks like a pretty crappy line up this year. Still, I am intrigued. The festival has developed a pretty bad reputation amongst most people I know. Some people still defend the actual experience, but for the most part people say that it’s a festival dominated by neds, which tends to ruin the experience. For me, a quiet lad who really likes to stand at the back of the room and just absorb the music and not have beer (or piss) thrown all over me, this appeals not one jot. However in a way I am keen to be part of the madness and take it all in. Now, I know it will seem odd that I’ve never been to a festival before, but if I’m honest, I like music in short doses. I want to absorb the music and let it filter through me and so I always figured that a festival would be an overload of music which I couldn’t proces and enjoy the way I can enjoy an individual gig. Maybe I’ll be proven wrong. But I doubt it. Still, if nothing else, I suppose at least I’ll get to drink tennant’s lager.

Leave a Reply

