Tiny Vipers – Life On Earth

1[1]

Tiny Vipers is Jesy Fortino a Seattle resident who I was lucky enough to catch support Damien Jurado last year at Stereo in Glasgow. That set comprised of a what appeared to be one or two long long long songs and was just spell binding. This is apparently her style live, she interweaves her songs together with little insturmental segments so the listener never really knows where one song ends and another begins. It was so wonderful live and it’s something that she appears to have carried over onto her records also. Signed to Sub Pop this record is not her first, but it is the first in my collection and on the sounds of this it won’t be my last. But then I was always going to love this given how taken I was with her live songs. My only problem is that as I listen to this record the sun is out and the day is still alive. This record needs darkness. It needs candles. It needs red wine. It needs a bed. It needs complete and utter silence. It needs a moon. A full one. This is simply beautiful. Please, please, please check her out. Even before I talk about this music – do it now……………

………………….and so? Exactly. She’s stunningly good. It’s hard to really describe her music if I’m honest. Her style is very much her own. Minimal and lingering. This album drifts by so quickly and keeps you captivated from start to finish. No small task given the minimalist nature of the work. But this woman is a master with the guitar. I remember when we saw her last year, Bart – Edinburgh’s very own guitar jedi master – was absolutely captivated by her playing. Now I’m no guitarist but even I could see that she was something special. And this album is special. It takes you on a wonderful journey through the dark and often haunting world of Jesy Fortino but it’s a journey I highly recommend that you take, and take soon.

To make things even better, as I wrote this post, Bart messaged me to tell me she is playing Stereo on the 8th September this year. Her music also features on the new Burn To Shine DVD which focuses on the music of Seattle. Check that out too here.

TSP Grade = B

Leave a Reply

