The Builders And The Butchers – Salvation Is A Deep Dark Well

builders-and-butchers[1]

Oof. This record grabs you hard by the balls from the word go! It’s rawkous, energetic, punk laiden alt country at it’s very, very best. I’ve been waiting for a good old fashioned alt country noise record for ages and these guys have come up trumps with this piece of loveliness. I am happy today. This is exactly what I needed! Now listen, I know these guys have apparently been getting hype all over the place and normally this would turn me off them completely. But on this evidence it’s totally meritted cause this is fucking brilliant and I would be surprised if it’s not in my top 10 list come the end of the year. Still, I am proud of myself that I have not ignored this band simply because of all the good press. If I’m honest, other than hearing Matthew babble on about them and reading Tart’s recent blog on them, I myself had not heard or read the hype and only knew that there was hype cause of Chutters. Tart’s post though introduced me to ‘Golden and Green’ the opening track on the album and after hearing that there was never a chance that I wouldn’t buy the album. This song sets the tone of the album and it never really lets up from its frantic pace for the duration. I’m not going to go on and on about this band just incase people like me get totally turned off by it. But I will say this, if you like your rawkous, aggressive, knee jangling, alt. punk country, buy this album and buy it now. Then listen to it before the hype seeps into your head. It’s worth it. I feel good about myself. Definitely a contender for album of the year. Enjoy.

TSP Grade = A+

2 thoughts on “The Builders And The Butchers – Salvation Is A Deep Dark Well

  1. hahaha! You are so impossible!!! I don’t know whether to be happy or sorry to have written my review that made you go and buy the damn record. 🙂

    But yes, it’s a winner, ain’t it? xoxo

Leave a Reply

