Randan Discotheque – Daily Record, May 18th, 1993.

randan-disco-01[1]

Some people I know don’t really get Randan Discotheque. I totally don’t understand that. Perhaps I’m missing something, but everytime I’ve seen him live I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the show and I am thoroughly enjoying this single. He mixes up the electric/acoustic sound quite beautifully when he plays live and has some absolutely beautiful traditional folk songs to go along with the more diverse stuff. I would bracket this single in the more diverse category but what I love about this, similar to the reasons I love Cancel The Astronauts, is that there’s something refreshing about Craig’s songwriting and lack of self importance. Lyrically and musically, this is a quirkly little pop number which will undoubtedly stick in your head and you’ll find yourself blurting out ‘Daily Record, May, 93’ at random and often inappropriate moments of your day! Randan Dicotheque is one of these names that you’ve seen floating about the Edinburgh scene for years it seems. Hopefully now his fan base is growing we can look forward to more releases soon. Certainly, from my point of view, he’s one to catch live sometime soon and definitely invest in this sinlge and help suopport another excellent local artist.

Leave a Reply

