Bat For Lashes – Two Suns

Bat+for+Lashes+b4l6[1]
I love Natasha Khan. I think it’s safe to say that if I was not married to a wonderful lady and with a wonderful little boy I’d be delighted to father her children. But alas, I will just have to enjoy her wonderful music instead. And it is indeed a wonderful world that she creates musically. In fact, if we could have a musical relationship and solely a musical relationship I think me and Natasha would be just about perfect for each other. There’s something so dark about this record yet it never loses the lush warmth beauty that resonates throughout. It’s how I want music to sound. It fills me with all the right feelings. All the desire to write but the inability to walk away from listening to her songs. It’s almost like a journey from the darkness to the light as the music dips and weaves and creates a wonderful world where the slightly dark and slightly quiky collide. Lots of guest vocalists and musicians add to the magic of this record with Scott Walker duetting on album closer ‘The Big Sleep’ to wonderous effect. But the stand out track for me is without a doubt album opener ‘Glass’, which highlights the wonders of Khan’s vocal. Having seen her support Radiohead last year I am delighted that she has gone from strength to strength because she seemed like a gem at the time. And, if she ever wants to call me, to discuss music obviously, I will be more than happy to. Simply gorgeous in every way and surely a definite contender for the Mercury Music Prize this year.

TSP Grade = B+ for music A+ for looks.

5 thoughts on “Bat For Lashes – Two Suns

  1. SHE’S MINE, hands off. PS I actually prefer Fur And Gold. I didn’t hear it until after I’d heard Two Suns, and they’re both great albums, but listening to them back-to-back the new one seems kinda over-produced, glossy. She’s naturally beautiful so she doesn’t need to pile on the make-up. That kinda thing.

  2. Hahaha. I’m sorry but I’m willing to fight you for her! I have to hold my hands up and say I’ve not heard Fur and Gold but will definitely be checking it out. She was amazing supporting Radiohead though and I must admit it didn’t sound as polished so I will go back and have a listen for sure. She sure is purty though so I could do another review simply to get another picture of her up on the blog!

Leave a Reply

