Burnsong 2009 – Andy Tucker

580144030_6c1b4a1598[1]

Andy Tucker is one of my oldest and dearest friends in Edinburgh music.  We first met about 6 years ago when The Kays Lavelle and his former band The Dead Beat Club played a show together at the Caledonian Backpackers Hostel.  From that moment on we became really good friends and drinking buddies, which more often than not culminated in me doing or saying stupid things.  Professing that it was I that chose Afroman on the jukebox at the Phoenix for example – it was, but god knows why I admitted it or did it in the first place.  For some unknown reason choosing Bonnie Prince Billy “I see a darkness” as a song on the jukebox of the Port of Leith.  This incident almost cost me my life, though I redeemed myself later in the evening with some fine harmonies with Andy and the regulars of the bar on such tracks as ‘Back To You’ by Bryan Adams and ‘Living On A Prayer’ by Bon Jovi.  Andy has stuck by me through thick and thin and has always been there for me when running the Kays was too much or things were getting me down.  Hence why I often refer to him as my Uncle A. 

What most people don’t know and what is criminal in my opinion is that the man is a seriously talented song writer.  When I first heard the Dead Beat Club I loved them.  And their only album “Random Heart Felt Trinkets” is a lovely Scottish folk/country album.   It’s well worth checking out.  His song ‘Mercy Killing’ is still a favourite of mine.  Recently I had the absolute pleasure of going into the studio to play piano on some of his new tracks pencilled in to form his first solo album under the moniker ‘Tucker and the Scattered Family’.  These tracks include performances from some very talented individuals including Kays guitarist Graeme Anderson, Roy Henderson, the wonderful vocals of Kat Healy and Shona Brodie as well as many others.  Well I am over the moon to be able to say on this blog that Andy “under rated” Tucker has gone and become one of the winners of the Burnsong 2009 for his track ‘Speilberg Moon’ For those of you who don’t know, the Burnsong basically looks for the best in Scottish song writing and Andy has been chosen as one of 12 winners for 2009.  Previous winners include Roddy Woomble, King Creosote, Karine Polwart and Norman Blake so to win is an incredible achievement and one he thoroughly deserves.  I cannot think of anyone who deserves such success more.  I just want to say congratulations to Andy and encourage you all to check out his wonderful songs here.  Enjoy.

One thought on “Burnsong 2009 – Andy Tucker

  1. Young master Tucker is indeed a phenomenal songwriter. A Fine Bromance is my current fave but anything from 12 Tall Tales makes me smile

Leave a Reply

