Trampoline Arist Profile: John B McKenna

review-jonbmckenna[1]

Well here’s another artist I discovered via Glasgow Podcart and their wonderful weekly show on Radio Magnetic.  I hope those guys don’t get tired of me whoring their show all the time!  I haven’t actually heard it for a few weeks now due to business at work, where I normally tune in, so I’ve not kept up to date with what they’ve been calling me.  You see, normally if they mention me I take dogs abuse from Sean and Ally.  I know it’s in jest of course (I hope!) but it’s been nice not to hear my name taken in vain the past few weeks.   Cue them reading this and an onslaught of abuse occuring on the next podcart I expect!

Anyways, that’s beside the point.  The point is that thanks to their wonderful show I’ve stumbled across a few gems that I’ve managed to get along to Trampoline.  Beerjacket being the one that sticks out most in my mind.  But then there’s John B McKenna.  When I heard him on their show I instantly fell in love with the song and felt compelled to check him out a little bit more and ask him along to Trampoline.  As always, as we only do a monthly show, it’s taken a little longer than I’d have liked to get him here.  But here he will be on the 14th November to play some of his lovely songs.  And I’m lead to believe he’s started to play with a band now as well so we could be in for a real treat.   Expect some hushed quiet beauty for sure, but with a band onboard I am intrigued to see what will be on offer.  That’s if he brings them.  He might fly solo.  Either way you’re in for a treat.  Check him out here.

John B McKenna plays Trampoline on Saturday 14th November at the Wee Red Bar, Edinburgh College of Art.  Doors 7pm.  Entry £5 or £3 with a valid student card.

Leave a Reply

