Is It Ever Too Late To Review A Record?

I recently said in my review of Peter Broderick’s album that I was bit late in reviewing the record.  Despite it being 2009 I was a little bit out of sync with it’s release date.  Anyways, I received a lovely message from Robert from Erased Tapes, Peter Broderick’s label, saying thanks for the review.  He also said in his message that he believes that it’s never too late to review a record.  This really got me thinking.  So many times I’ve thought I missed the boat on a record cause months had past since it’s release. I’ve seen other bloggers say similar things in posts, like “i’m a bit behind on this one”, or something similar.  Thinking that perhaps everything that could be said, had already been said.  Robert’s words were a bit of a jolt for me.  And I think he’s right.  Along with the Antlers record, and the Peter Broderick record I also bought albums by Timber Timbre and one by Robert Gomez.  Whilst the Timber Timbre record is definitely 2009.  The Robert Gomez record dates from 2007.  Does that mean a review now would be any less valuable?    It made me think.  When does it become too late to review a record?  Is it ever too late?   Though most things that can be said about a record may have been said, it doesn’t mean that everyone has read those words now does it?

Sure, perhaps a review of the Kings of Leon or the Killers or U2 might not mean as much 2 years after its release but that’s really down to the size of the artist.  They don’t need a review from me.  They probably don’t care either.  So nothing I say is likely to have an impact on their sales or their stature and it would seems a little irrelevant.  But, reviewing a Robert Gomez record seems to have a whole lot more merit, even 2 years on from its release.  Maybe it’s the size of the artist like I said previously?  I’m not saying Robert Gomez is not well known or established, but I doubt he’s massively established on our shores, so to me, reviewing his record now still seems to have value.  The purpose of reviewing after all is to provide an opinion on a record.  Whether you are a blogger like myself who focuses on stuff I like, or one who reviews records both good and bad, the idea is the same – you are trying to inform others, not only of your opinion but about an artist in general.  Raise awareness perhaps.   And whilst that opinion may seem like a tiny voice in a giant sea of music mags and blogs somebody, who has never heard of the Antlers or Peter Broderick or Withered Hand for example, might stumble across your blog and immediately be opened to a whole new world of music.  A new artist that may actually turn out to be somebody they fall in love with. A record they’d never thought of buying.  I’m 2 years behind on the Robert Gomez front myself so it just shows that the words or views of one person, in this case Anna-Lynne Williams from Trespassers William, can make you invest in an artist, even 2 years after an album drops. 

Why does my blog have to be so current?  It’s not a newspaper after all.  I have albums by artists from 2 or 3 years ago, probably older, that deserve to be heard in my opinion.  So what’s stopping me writing about them?  I don’t think anything really should.  Just because it’s not current doesn’t mean it’s not relevant or important to write about.  I know people like to hear about new records but, to many, old records are new.  And it’s all relative.  And it’s all important.

So, thanks to Robert from Erased Tapes.

3 thoughts on “Is It Ever Too Late To Review A Record?

  1. so right you are! I don’t think it’s ever too late to review a (certain type of) record. some musicians need all the exposure they can get. Some others simple have made such beautiful, timeless albums that they need to be rediscovered every once in a while..

    By the way, I also wanted to thank you for putting a link to my blog up. super sweet! I discovered that through my blog stats actually. so thank you! I’ll remember to drop by regularly to check the (masses of) posts you are writing 🙂

  2. so right you are! I don’t think it’s ever too late to review a (certain type of) record. some musicians need all the exposure they can get. Some others simple have made such beautiful, timeless albums that they need to be rediscovered every once in a while..

    By the way, I also wanted to thank you for putting a link to my blog up. super sweet! I discovered that through my blog stats actually. so thank you! I’ll remember to drop by regularly to check the (masses of) posts you are writing 🙂

  3. So nice of you to drop by and say hello. And you’re welcome for the link. I enjoy reading your blog.

    Anyways, musicians do need the exposure. It’s something I’ve been thinking a lot about actually. Exposure versus income and the very tricky balancing act between the two. Something I might write about soon actually.

    Do drop back and say hello when you can.

Leave a Reply

