Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix

I was first introduced to Phoenix by Kays guitarist Graeme when he bought me one of their earlier records for a birthday.  It was instantly enjoyable and I was hooked into their toe tapping dancetasticness.  This record is once again packed with good tunes and nice beats and is instantly memorable.   It’s weird though, because in a strange way it reminds me very much of some Euro pop.  When I was 19 I lived in Nijmegen in the Netherlands and all the music channels played over there was crazy Euro pop.  Europe is mad for that kind of garbage but it seems that somehow the Phoenix guys have tapped into this market and moudled it successfully with more alternative sounds to make it both appealing and really, really good.  This record is as overblown as it is subtle hoaning in on the references to musical genius like Mozart and Liszt.

I have to be honest.  I was put off this record at first by it’s title.  I just didn’t like it.  Even when I’d fallen in love with the music, I just couldn’t bring myself to like the title.  It really shouldn’t matter, but as you probably have guessed about me from previous posts, I like everything about a record to feel right.  Not just the music, but the art, the title.  Everything.  And I could not stand the title.  Then I read about the theme of the record and the references to various classical composers all started to fall into place and make sense. So now I understand it, I’m feeling happier about the title!

Forgetting the title though, this record is one I’m sorry I waited so long to buy.  And I am truly surprised that Phoenix are not bigger than they are.  I can imagine my mum and dad liking this record as much as me.  I can imagine children dancing along to it at a wedding.  I can imagine groups of indie kids playing it in their bedrooms.  I can imagine it appealing to such a wide spectrum of music loving society.  And yet, they just don’t seem to get the recognition that their music and this album clearly deserves.  It’s a cracker.  No doubt about it.  It’s managed to rip the Yeah Yeah Yeahs of the stereo and has been on constant repeat ever since.  A real winner.  You can and should check out the band here.  Enjoy.

TSP Grade = A

Leave a Reply

