What’s Wrong With People?

So today I’m back at work.  I had the most lovely 2 weeks holiday.  Did absolutely nothing really.  Just chilled.  Ate.  Drank.  Listened to music.  Watched DVDs.  Read.  It was magic.  Now it’s back to reality and 7am starts and I’m finding that my brain is a little dead today.  Forgetting things I was doing only 2 weeks ago.  Mental. 

However, last night I finished my holidays with some real bullshit behaviour by a local take away.  I don’t want to name names but I’ve used this Chinese for 6 years since I first arrived in Edinburgh.  The food is excellent.  The service I received last night was nothing short of ridiculous.  Basically, I phoned and made my order which happened to be a chicken curry and deep fried shredded chilli chicken.  When we received the food and started to serve we noticed that we’d been sent a beef curry.  Pamela doesn’t eat red meat so I said I’d have it instead as I didn’t mind beef.  Then I noticed Chicken in it too, took a look at the menu and thought it was a beef and chicken curry.  So I served it up.  As it poured out I noticed prawns throughout as well.  I’d been sent a special curry instead.  I don’t eat seafood so I called the Chinese and explained the cock up.  They had put it in to the system as a Special curry instead of Chicken curry.  They said they’d send out a full new order within ten minutes.  Twenty minutes later I received a call from the manager, or whoever was in charge last night, and basically got accused of trying to scam free food off them.  He had the cheek to ask for his food back in return for the new order – what would you want it for?????  After I explained it had been plated he then accused me of having already eaten it……..I DON’T LIKE SEAFOOD!!  And he even said it was “strange” that they had put in “special curry” when I claimed I asked for “chicken curry”.   No it’s not strange, it was a simple error by the person who took the order.  It happens.  I was not annoyed with her.  WHY WOULD I ASK FOR A SPECIAL CURRY WHEN I HATE HATE HATE SEAFOOD???!?!!  Anyways, I don’t get annoyed about much but when somebody treats me like that it really, really pisses me off.  I really couldn’t believe it and it totally ruined the last night of my holiday.  I will use them again as I spoke to the delivery lady who I know well and she explained that the ignorant, rude man only works on a Monday.  Needless to say I will never order food from them on a Monday ever again.  Disgusting behaviour and attitude.  So much for good customer service.

However, I shall not let this ruin my week.  I have a few great things happening.  First up we all but have the finished record.  All the songs are pretty much finished – just 2 little bits to do and we’re onto mixing.  I am very excited about this.  Secondly, I’m doing a solo show in Glasgow this week supporting Benni Hemm Hemm and the Second Hand Marching Band as part of the We Sink Ships Radio Magnetic show launch night at 13th Note.  It’s going to be weird.  Never done a solo show before.  Finding it hard to put a set together that I’m happy with if I’m honest.  Really looking forward to it though.  And if you’re coming along, be gentle with me, I’ve never done this sort of thing before!  Hopefully see some friendly faces on Friday.

12 thoughts on “What’s Wrong With People?

  1. Stick the wrong curry in an envelope and send it off to the rude guy. Without a stamp, of course.

    See you Friday, don’t forget to work on your stage patter 🙂

  2. The Earth is round, the sky is blue and people who do not eat seafood are wrong.

    It’s simply a universal axiom. Sorry, but you can’t blame me for one of life’s fundamental truths.

  3. Seafood makes me sick. It’s not a choice of me saying I won’t eat. I simply cannot eat it. I can eat white fish (would prefer not to) and that’s about it. I get the boak. It’s like egg as well. I love egg. Makes me sick though, so I can’t eat it. You should be grateful, just means that it’s one less person eating seafood meaning more for you.

  4. I like seafood. I like seafood curries.
    I don’t like special curries though.
    One type of meat in my curry please, mixing them seems wrong.

    Admittedly I have to have Jelly and Ice cream in seperate bowls. So maybe I’m just a fussy eater. Or a dick.

    Good luck with the solo gig Euan!

  5. Thanks Michael Rocketship. I am now quite nervous. Not sure how many people want to listen to a miserable piano player on a Friday night at a Radio show launch. But I’m going to give it a go and I’ll let you know the results. 🙂

  6. Please do. At least that would be a reaction! And I will keep the set as short as possible. When I watch a solo artist with only a guitar if it goes on for more than half an hour I tend to feel myself drift off. So I will try and make sure that doesn’t happen.

Leave a Reply

