February Releases

It really is a bad month to be broke.  There are a number of great albums coming out in February that I want to get my hands on but in reality will have to wait until March or later to buy.  It’s become a real fact of life recently but pay day comes along and the money that goes into my account just gets sucked straight back out by various things.  The cost of a baby.  The cost of owning a flat.  The cost of recording an album.  In February and March you can add the cost of friends stag do’s.  Money comes in and then money goes out.  In the blink of an eye I go from having lots of cash to having no cash.  And I’m going to have to get used to this feeling on a monthly basis for a while.  It’s ok though.  I’m not complaining.  I guess I’m just disappointed that I will have to wait to buy the records released in February.  I could always buy Roddy a present of the new Midlake record on Monday?  I think he’d like that.

Anyways, my priority, without a shadow of a doubt, is the new Fionn Regan record due to be released on the 8th.  His debut record ‘The End Of History’ is one of my favourite records.  It’s brilliant.   A lovely record drenched in Irish folkyness.  Lyrically, Regan is a master of his trade.  Lyrics can make a song or record.  Just think of the brilliance of Withered Hand’s lyrics on debut album ‘Good News’.  Well, Fionn Regan has always had that same magic in his words.  Far from the same style, but the same impact lyrically.  He draws you into his world and he holds you there until his last breath.  It’s a skill not many people have.  He’s a bit of a poet really, and poetry is something I’ve been getting more and more into of late.  My friend Fraser lent me a book of poems by American artist Patrick Porter and I’ve been reading it constantly since.  I love the way words work together.  It’s fascinating.  Anyways,  so yes, I will buy Fionn Regan’s new album when it’s released on 8th.  However, the others will have to wait I guess.  Which sucks, because the others include artists such as Midlake, The Unwinding Hours, Nils Frahm (I own this digitally but not physically), Errors, and The Album Leaf, to name a few.  So yes, February is a good  month for music but most of this music I will have to wait to own.  At least until next pay day.  Although even then that might be a struggle unless it’s all for Roddy.

Check out Fionn Regan here.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

