Artist Profile: The Lotus Project

I am very aware that this week this blog has turned into a Kays Lavelle fest due to the release of ‘the hours’ and all the nice press that we’ve received.  I’m sure people who read this blog regularly probably quite enjoy the fact that it’s not all about me!  So I apologise for getting a little caught up in the Kays this week.

As way of an apology, I thought it would be nice to do a little artist profile on a group I recently stumbled upon.  Running Trampoline, I get a hell of a lot of messages asking for gigs.  I’m not sure if the bands realise that we only have a monthly slot, or even bother to read the blurb on our myspace page about “we’ll contact you” but more often than not we have our nights planned well in advance and we know who we want to play.  Also, quite often, the stuff I get sent is not stuff I’m going to be interested in putting on.  However, now and again an artist e-mails me asking for a show and they really do make an impression on me.  The Lotus Project are one of these artists.  These guys randomly e-mailed me the other week about getting a show and when I listened to them I really liked what I heard.  I asked them for some more tracks and the tracks they sent me were even better.  Really lovely stuff.  They appear to be a 2 piece and they appear to have only recently moved to Edinburgh and are slowly finding their feet in the Edinburgh scene.  So I thought I’d take the opportunity to introduce them.  The stuff I’ve heard varies from the full on to the sublimely delicate.  One track in particular called ‘walk the water’ sounds absolutely stunning.  Marie Claire Lee has a beautiful voice and the early indications for me are that these guys are one to keep an eye on.  You can check them out here.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

