Smith/Chesnutt/Linkous Tribute

This really is in its early planning stages but I have been in touch with a whole variety of musicians about this and have already had a very positive response with Rob St John actually recording and sending me his tune last night hours after having been asked.

My idea is simply to get artists from Scotland and beyond, who I know and love, to contribute a cover version of a tune by either Elliott Smith, Vic Chesnutt or Mark Linkous with a short piece on why they chose the song and what it is they loved most about the artist.  Once I have gathered all the music together I plan to put up one post a day featuring a song by an artist.  You will be able to download these songs but you will have to pay for this privalige.  But fear not, none of it will go to me.  This is not about profit but about understanding.  My plan is that to download a track you will have to pay £1 to the Depression Alliance, a charity organisation who deal with this horrible illness, and if you want all the tracks you can do this on a daily basis until the run is complete. 

I am not trying to make a profit from this.  I just want people to know about the music of these wonderful musicians and to understand the real issues that people suffering from depression face every single day.  As Stephen Fry says:

“If you know someone who’s depressed please resolve never to ask them why. Depression isn’t a straightforward response to a bad situation, depression just is, like the weather.

Try to understand the blackness, lethargy, hopelessness and loneliness they’re going through. Be there for them when they come through the otherside. It’s hard to be a friend to someone who’s depressed, but it is one of the kindest, noblest and best things you will ever do. ”

I kind of hope people will support this idea in full.  If you are a musician and you loved any of these artists and would like to contribute you can contact me on mini50records@gmail.com  Or if you want to just lend your support or tell me it’s a crazy idea then please do.

Like I said though.  This will not be a mini50 release.  Just a project to promote music and awareness of depression.

7 thoughts on “Smith/Chesnutt/Linkous Tribute

  1. Big thank you to all the artists so far who have responded, both those who I contacted myself and those who have contacted me independantly. Also, thanks to those who have sent kind messages in support of the idea.

  2. of course! I’ve already posted about/ linked to this. please, could you maybe email me once the project slowly comes together? I do hope I’ll check back in here by then, but in case I don’t.. you can drop me a line anytime, will do anything to promote. heartfelt music releases like this are so important, and I’m sure whoever really cares about music and knows what it’s like to feel passion, gratefulness and love for a musician will take the minute to check the project and possibly donate.

Leave a Reply

