All My Bad Thoughts

When I started the Steinberg Principle I always intended to make it more of a place where I could write than a place where I simply reviewed music.  I didn’t want it to turn into a music blog per se, but a place where I could note my thoughts, express my feelings – something I’m horrendously bad at doing normally.  I was hoping to post some of my poetry.  Maybe little pieces of creative writing, as well as the usual music chat.  I hope I’ve managed to keep it away from turning solely into a music blog and retained a little diversity and a little bit of me.  The interviews of late have been predominantly with musicians, but I’m hoping to change that soon.  I really want to keep the blog fresh and make it more than just my thoughts on music.  Cause lets face it,  my thoughts on music are not always that interesting! 

Something I’d been wrestling with the idea of for a long time was writing a book.  I got the research and writing bug when I was doing my masters thesis and I’d always wanted to write – I originally applied to do English at University – so it made perfect sense to me.  Sometime last year I saw a post somewhere, my mind fails me where, challenging people to write a novel in a month.  I SO wanted to do it.  But time, and my lack of any real solid and interesting ideas, just got in the way.  Since then, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about stories.  Formulating ideas.  And I feel just about ready to put pen to paper.  Or fingers to keyboard.  Willy Vlautin inspired me.  Matthew Young’s recent interview with him raised some lovely points, which I could easily relate too.  One such point was the crossover between writing stories and writing songs.  Where a song didn’t work it became a novel.  I can relate to this idea as there is a spoken word track at the end of the Kays album.  It started as words which I couldn’t work out music for.  Chris our drummer created an atmospheric piece using bells and whilst it sounded great it just didn’t feel right.  Once Fraser from Small Town Boredom delivered the words we realised that it worked better as a piece of poetry on it’s own than to music.  So we’ve left it as just the words.  The words are important to me.  They are possibly my favourite words on the record.  And yet they could never be a song.  They are what they are.

So anyways, I digress.  I’m going to try and write a book.   Something I’ve dreamt about doing since I was young.  Something I’ve started many times and scrapped after chapter 1 on many occassions!  Something I intend to see through to its conclusion this time.  I have no idea if it will be successful or any good.  But if it is, I will almost certainly use the blog as a place to publish it.  Chapter by chapter.  We’ll see.  It’s another of my crazy schemes.  But I spend a lot more time in my flat these days.  So I have the time to focus on it.  Let’s see where this goes eh.

6 thoughts on “All My Bad Thoughts

  1. Sounds great Euan, and frankly, I’m a little jealous, as it’s something I’d love to do too. Maybe your efforts will finally inspire me to get my arse in gear 🙂

    Really looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

  2. Thanks Milo. Not sure I’ll manage to make it work. But we’ll see. I know how I want it to read. But it might be shit!

    Worth exploring though. If I don’t try I’ll always regret it. And thanks for the support. Do it!! You know you want to.

  3. If you want anyone to look over it before posting on here, then I’d be happy to have a look and offer any thoughts. I realise it’s a very personal thing though!

Leave a Reply

