Spain Or The Netherlands

So the World Cup comes to a close this Sunday after a month of football.  I have to be honest and say that I have not been tuned in to this World Cup as I thought I would be.  My interest was fleeting until about Quarter Final stage.  The Netherlands versus Brazil was probably the first game that I had sat down and watched properly.  And for me, the final between The Netherlands and Spain is a triumph for football and how football should be played.  Watching the Spanish the other night was a total joy.  They make the game look so easy.  Their ability was summed up in stoppage time when they won a corner.  Rather than take a short one and hold the ball in the corner, they simply passed it back from the corner, to midfield, to defence and across the pitch.  Playing keep ball never looked so easy.    Their opponents in the final the Netherlands have been criticised for the style of football that they have adopted in this World Cup.  However, having watched them a few times, I would be more than happy to have a team that good with a football.  Wesley Sniejder is simply a stunning player.  And though a cock, Arjen Robben is also something pretty special.  So, we have the final that all football fans, bar the English, would surely have been hoping for at Semi Final stage.

So who will I be supporting come Sunday?  Well, normally I find the Dutch a bit annoying, but I lived in Nijmegen for a while and I love that country, so despite the fact that I really like the Spanish as a team, and the way they play football, I will be supporting the Netherlands for sure.  I hope that they lift the World Cup for the first time in their history.  I do wonder how long it will take before the English commentators ruin the final by mentioning “what could have been”…

3 thoughts on “Spain Or The Netherlands

  1. I’d much rather have a player like Iniesta in my team than a show pony like Ronaldo, etc. Love Sniejder as a player, but he’s a jerk!

Leave a Reply

