Brian McBride – The Effective Disconnect

It’s winter.  It’s a cold, crisp, bright winter’s morning.  My favourite kind of morning.  The sun is shining, there’s a cold bite in the air, I have a coffee in my hand and I am listening to the most perfect record to fit the day: Brian McBride’s The Effective Disconnect.

Many of you will know of Brian McBride for his work as one half of ambient drone masters Stars of the Lid.  He released his debut solo record ‘When The Detail Lost Its Freedom’ back in 2005.  Here he once again breaks free on his own to create a stunningly beautiful piece of music, which has left me in a dream like state this lovely winter’s morning.

As an aside, I’d like to mention the cover art which I find stunningly beautiful and a perfect accompaniment to the music.  Cover art really is extremely important to me and I love this cover as much as any I can think of.  In a similar way to the music actually.

But I digress.  The music is what you really want to know about I assume, and it really will not disappoint, I promise.  It’s not nearly as droney as his bands work.  No, this record is packed with lush, sumptious and warm soundscapes.  It’s packed with strings.  It’s sprinkled with brass.  It’s touched with lilting piano lines, here and there.  It kind of washes over you in a warm haze and yet it manages to drag you in deep enough to capture the imagination and melt even the coldest winter’s frost.   And it’s all over far too quickly.  It really is.  I can feel myself drifting off into a very happy place when I put this record on and then needing to press play again and again.  Definitely one of my records of 2010. 

Cold, crisp, Scottish winters morning music without a shadow of a doubt.  It’s what you need to play once you get back to the warmth of your house and have a hot cup of soup in your hands, as you sit on your comfy sofa and watch the sun in the winters sky.  The light in this country really is fanastic at this time of year, and this music is the perfect compliment, even if it is created in a far off land.

Anyways, please check out this record!  You can do so here.  And, check out Stars of the Lid here.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

