White Noise

It’s weird.  I’ve never been one to spend loads and loads of money on music.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  Let me clarify.  I have always spent money on music.  What I mean to say is that I have never felt the need to spend a huge amount of money on any single piece of music.  I did buy my friend the Bob Dylan mono recordings for his Christmas this year, but when it comes to myself, I don’t really ever go for these sort of things.

So, for me to fork out 50 quid on the limited edition box set of Mogwai’s new record ‘Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will’ is something of a rarity.  Mogwai are up there in my top 5 artists.  Without a doubt.  Along with Tom Waits, Wilco, Sparklehorse and Radiohead.  Good music comes and goes.  But for me, those 5 artists rarely disappoint me.  And the new Mogwai record is just brilliant.  Read my review here.

Anyways, the package arrived the other night and I am completely smitten by it.  For 50 quid it’s maybe the best piece of music buying I have ever done.  In the box is the album on double vinyl; the album on cd with a bonus cd featuring a track written for a project by the artist Douglas Gordon; a bonus vinyl ep; 4 quality photographic prints of the album art (probably worth about a tenner each, if not more); a stencil and a t-shirt.  All in, I reckon you’re looking at closer to 100 quid than 50.  It’s just brilliant value for money.  It’s beautifully boxed up.  The attention to detail is magic.  It reminds me why I love music packaging so much.  It’s all about the whole product, rather than just the music encoded on the disc or vinyl.  It will always have pride of place in my music collection.  Mogwai always have, but this is simply a brilliant piece of music buying.  I love when artists care.  The good thing of course is that the music to go with it is great.  Mogwai never fail to disappoint and I am encouraged to invest more in such lovely boxsets.

Leave a Reply

