The Best So Far.

I read with interest last night in the Skinny, the article about hero worshipping.  It seems that Scott from Frightened Rabbit and I share the view that Yankee Hotel Foxtrot is our favourite record and Jeff Tweedy our musical hero.

Don’t get me wrong.  I am no Frightened Rabbit fanboy and in no way was this why I found the article interesting, though it is nice to know that he has such good taste!  No, the reason that I loved what Scott said was the use of the phrase “so far” when stating that YHF was his favourite record.  I liked that because it shows a willingness to accept that whilst something might be the best thing you’ve heard, this may not always be the case.

Jeff Tweedy himself, in a recent interview, said that whilst he feels he is always improving as a song writer he accepts that new Wilco records are unlikely to be as loved as old ones such as YHF because of their immediacy.  YHF/Ghost Is Born have had time to live and grow with the listener.  This is obviously very true.  However, why I like Scott’s statement is that there is an acceptance that whilst YHF may be his favourite record at the moment he is happy to accept that something may come along and push it off top spot in the future.

I can totally relate to that.  Ben Frost’s ‘By The Throat’ recently found me.  It’s not pushed YHF off the top spot though but I do accept that one day something might.  The funny thing is, I wouldn’t be surprised if it was Mr Tweedy himself that achieved that.

2 thoughts on “The Best So Far.

Leave a Reply

