Lost Again…

It’s been a really odd year musically for me.  It has been over a year since I played a live show.  And, if I am perfectly honest, I do not miss it.  Not one bit.  The forthcoming Graveyard Tapes show is exciting and yet concerning in equal measure.  I don’t feel comfortable in that environment anymore so a massive part of me does not know what to expect.  Whilst I am excited about the music that Matthew and I are creating, I am not that excited about being on stage again and having to perform in front of people.  However, I feel like it’s a necessary process so that the songs that we are working on can grow, change and develop.  Our first proper rehearsal resulted in things that were ideas going in very different directions from their original form.  And that’s kind of exciting and maybe the point behind doing some live shows.  It’s not something I intend to make a habit of.

The Graveyard Tapes EP that we were working on and that started well over a year ago has kind of fallen apart.  That is to say that some of the tracks will be considered/used for the album and others will be put aside for other purposes.  As it stands, we have a lot of work ahead of us and a long way to go before a record is complete but we’re in no rush to release something for the sake of it.  I’d rather it took 5 years and we released something brilliant than we rushed something out because we felt that we had to.  So yeah, with Graveyard Tapes there is a lot to be done.  Life gets in the way a lot.   But that’s fine by me.

Glacis wise, well I just read this   It’s nice to read something so positive about the record.  As it was a limited 50 copy release it really didn’y gey much attention or press.  And it’s always nice to read about people appreciating what you have created.  At the moment I am working away on tracks for a planned full length glacis release.  Hopefully this will involve working with Talvihorros.  That’s the plan anyway.  The biggest problem for me is my recording limitations.  I really want to record everything on a proper upright piano.  However, getting access to one is hard enough, but finding somebody capable of recording it all – and for very little reward – is even more problematic.  I do have 9 ideas in total.  I think it can come together nicely.  I just need to find the tools and the people to help me make my ideas a reality.

On top of these tracks, I am also working on the music for an animated piece done by the brilliant Jamie Mills.   It is a stunning work and I am trying to conjure up something that is fitting of such a brilliant animation.  It’s so much fun to work on – again the recording limitations are a pain.

Finally, I am working on a project called Nine Threads.  Something I cannot talk about as I don’t want the idea to be stolen by somebody else!  But it’s fun.

Anyways, hopefully 2012 will see me complete and release some music.  That’s the plan anyway.

2 thoughts on “Lost Again…

Leave a Reply

