Top Ten of 2011 – Number 4. Grouper – Alien Observer

Nuumber 4 in the top 10 list comes from Grouper.  I was going to include both albums she released on the same day as a joint number 4 but then, whilst I think that they work very well together as a piece of work,  I don’t think it’s fair to include it as a double album as it’s not, technically.  So ‘Alien Observer’ it is because the first time I listened to it I was completely blown away by it.  I was already a fan of her work but when I heard ‘Alien Observer’ my levels of love for her music skyrocketed.  (This was reinforced by ‘Dream Loss’).  It’s such an amazingly beautiful record, which I tried to write about earlier in the year.  The whole sound of the record gives the feeling of listening to Liz Harris sing under water.  It’s just eerily beautiful and when she unleashes ‘Come Softly’ at the end of the record my heart just skips a beat.  One of the most hauntingly beautiful tunes that I have ever heard.

Her skill as a manipulator of sound, tone and texture to create these ethereal worlds is second to none.  A real star.  She deserves to be heard by more.  Check out ‘Dream Loss’ too because it’s equally brilliant.  And if I was cheating the pair of them together would definitely be pushing towards the top of my top 10 list.  But I am not cheating.  So number 4 she is.  And deservedly so for a brilliant album.

Check out Grouper here.  Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten of 2011 – Number 4. Grouper – Alien Observer

  1. I am so glad you like them.they are amazing records and deserve more attention.you should try and do an interview with her.would be great.what are your thoughts?better individually or as a double album?

Leave a Reply

