Hiva Oa

Well, I am delighted to say that the next mini50 release will be by Edinburgh based artists Hiva Oa.  I first saw them support Farewell Poetry at Medina – or whatever it’s now called – and was so impressed by their performance that I got in touch with them about hooking up for a beer and a chat.  Said beer and chat went well and an agreement was reached to release a digital double a-side single with them.  This double A-side will be titled ‘Badger/Urban’.

I guess you could say it’s small steps to forming a working relationship.  Finding our feet.  But it’s very exciting because I think they are the most creative and interesting Scottish act that I have heard in a long, long time.  Though technically, calling them Scottish is like calling Greg Rusedski British.  Comprising of various nationalities, the only thing that ties them to Scotland is the fact that they all live in Edinburgh.  So let’s just call them Scottish based because I think they’ve played more shows in Italy than they have here!

So yeah, their debut double a-side single ‘Badger/Urban’ will be released by mini50 records very, very soon.

In the meantime, get yourself down to the Banshee Labyrinth in Edinburgh on 18 February (tomorrow) to check them out live and also to check out the wonderful Rob St John as well.  It’s a lovely little venue and the show is being run by our good friend Penduluman Man Concerts, which makes it worth the entry fee since his shows are always on the money.

Below you can check out the brilliant new video for one of the tracks we will be releasing, ‘Badger’.  Enjoy

Hiva Oa – “Badger” from Sea of Lyons on Vimeo.

One thought on “Hiva Oa

  1. Thanks for alerting me to Hiva Oa – made for a wonderful surprise upon following the link you sent out. I am also pleased to see that you are writing and recording again, will wait and wonder until I see the fruits of your labour. I supported the Kays via Leith FM – well, I have long since departed Academy Street but still add my tuppence worth through the Leither blogs…anything I can do….:-)

Leave a Reply

