Top Ten of 2012 – Number 10. Bat For Lashes – The Haunted Man

Natasha Khan, aka Bat for Lashes

It’s that time again.  List time.  I debated a top 10 this year.  So many great records have entered my brain this year that I was thinking rather than defining a top 10 I would simply list a whole bunch of records that I thought you should check out.  I think I will do this anyway, but since it’s become a bit of a tradition to name my top 10 albums of the year I suppose I should keep it going.  Winners of this highly prestigious (cough) and coveted (cough) award in the past have been:

2009 – Withered Hand – Good News

2010 – Jóhann Jóhannsson – And in the Endless Pause Came the Sound of Bees

2011 – The Antlers – Burst Apart.

2012 – ??

So, coming in at number 10 with a simply glorious third album is the brilliant Bat for Lashes.  We all know the story of how close she came to giving up the music business and we all should be thankful that this did not transpire.  Such talent and creativity deserves to be heard and for those of us who had always believed in her talent we are rewarded with her best record to date.  Packed with great beats, amazing vocals and the usual odd instrumentation this is a piece of alternative pop genius.  A great way to start the top 10 for 2012.  You can read my review of this record here.

 

Leave a Reply

