Top Ten of 2012 – Number 9. Dan Deacon – America

America-Dan

I read about this record in the Sunday Times and had to get my hands on it.  Dan Deacon was a new name to me, though I am aware he had been around for some time.  What I discovered upon listening to the record was a man capable of producing wonderfully complex and challenging music whilst retaining a real sense of melody and harmony.   This is a bit of a head fuck record if I’m honest.  It’s not easy listening and it’s probably only suitable for certain times of the day or certain moods.  However, it is one of the most complete and exciting records of 2012.  In much the same manner as ‘Age of Adz’ by Sufjan Stevens pushed boundaries last year, this record pushes the boundaries and sets a benchmark for alternative pop in 2013.   You can read my review of this record here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

