So, if you had told me at the start of 2012 that by the years end I’d have recorded 4 glacis EPs (released 3), secured a record label for Graveyard Tapes and released 4 records on mini50 – I’d have called you crazy.

It’s funny how a year pans out though. And as I sit here at the end of 2012 I can safely say this has been one of the most successful years I have experienced as a musician and in music.

glacis began as something small. Something to do on the side. I found myself writing some piano pieces, loving doing that and just taking it from there. Since the debut EP, that Fluid Audio released in 2011, I have found that out of all my musical projects glacis seems to be the one that is constantly moving in the right direction. Growing from nothing in early 2011 to something quite exciting as we approach 2013. glacis has exposed me to so many wonderful people from artists to music writers to labels and has allowed me to grow as a musician learning with each and every piece what it is I am trying to achieve in terms of progression and development. And the thing I love most about glacis is that it usually involves collaboration with other artistic disciplines and artists, which is something I really do love exploring. As I approach 2013 I am hopeful that what began as something to do for fun will turn into much more and take up an ever increasing amount of my time. This begins with work on my first long player as well as the completion of a long player with the wonderful and talented Ed Hamilton.

Graveyard Tapes has also surprised me greatly. I always knew that the record Matt and I produced was exciting and different. But if I am honest, I thought it too obscure and different to really get the interest of labels. And I had no idea where to start. Fortunately, the wonderful Fred Nolan from The Muse in Music/Fluid Radio knew exactly where to start and, thanks to him, Lost Tribe Sound heard our record and will release it in early 2013. It was an amazing experience creating that record with Matt and to have the support of Lost Tribe – well, it’s more than I ever expected. Hopefully people will embrace that record as much as those guys have. The time, resources and effort they have put in on it so far has been humbling and I’m excited to see what happens with that next year.

And then there is the second Kays record. It’s something I didn’t really expect to happen or plan. I guess it just felt right. And so the recording process began in November and hopefully the album will be ready by mid/late 2013 (though glacis is the priority). The art work is done. The track listing is known. All that’s left is to shape it and make it something special. Where it will end up in terms of a label – who knows, probably mini50. But I am proud of everything I have achieved in 2012 and am hopeful 2013 will be even bigger.

And then there is mini50. I had one release planned this year. Hiva Oa’s ep. This lead to the release of the album also and has been followed by eps by glacis, Guy Gelem and The Good Ship. Once again I feel there has been progress in the way we run the label and have grown. We have learnt and developed and I feel even more positive about 2013 with releases by Lozninger and Old Earth to start the year in an exciting fashion. And I’m getting serious about it too. Have met with some people, spoken about small business loans, started to look into seminars about various issues I need to understand more. 2013 is going to be when mini50 becomes more than something to simply help musicians I love. It’s going to get bigger and grow. I am determined about that. Just like I am about my own music. 2013 is when things get serious on all fronts. Let’s see where I am this time next year.

Thank you one and all for your support, readership and, in a lot of cases, friendship. It’s funny how many friends I have through the internet that I have never met. And how those friends have supported me more than those I thought were friends – but were not.

Best wishes to all for the festive period and indeed the New Year. I’m going to take a wee break from the blog now and will return in 2013 with a lot lot more as this year the blog has taken a back seat.

Leave a Reply

