Micah P Hinson and the Nothing

Micah-P-Hinson-and-The-Nothing-e1390387666364

What a fitting way to celebrate my 1000th post as the Steinberg Principle, with one of my all time favourite artists.

As the 6 years of running the blog have passed I have become less focused on writing reviews – who am I to critique music – and more focused on sharing the things I love.  There are not many artists I love more than Micah P Hinson.  Since the first time I saw him at the Bongo Club and fell instantly in love with his music I have religiously bought his music – one of the few artists I still buy beofre I try.  ‘Don’t Leave Me Now’ is one of my all time favourite songs and Micah has soundtracked much of my adult life with his wonderful songs and quite incredible voice.  And the weird thing is that album to album nothing really changes.  There are never any shocking changes in direction or experimental changes in approach.  No, Micah is Micah and the changes are subtle and delcious and perfect.  And there is nothing new about this album.  More fragile.  More heart breaking.  The voice more impressive than ever.  But not a massive change in direction by any respect.  And it’s just fantastic.  I could soak this mans music up for ever and a day.  Thank goodness he recovered from the car accident and got the use of his arms back.  The world without Micah would be a tragic place.

 

Leave a Reply

