Top Instrumental Albums of 2016

jmb_cover-500x500

So, following my top albums of 2016 – here’s a list of my favourite instrumental records of the year.  And again, these are my favourites of records I have heard, there are many I have not heard.  In no particular order:

Ben Chatwin – Heat and Entropy

Federico Albanese  – The Blue Hour

Johann Johannsson – Orphee

Alva Noto/Ryuichi Sakamoto – The Revenant OST (technically 2015 but 25th December release date so I’m allowing it in my 2016 list)

Ben Lukas Boysen – Spells

Kinbrae – Tidal Patterns

Dead Light – Dead Light

Marconi Union – Ghost Stations

Western Skies Motel – Settlers

Jherek Bischoff – Cistern

Explosions in the Sky – The Wilderness

Sten Erland Hermundstad – Mountains

Seabuckthorn – I Could See the Smoke

M. Ostermeier – Tiny Birds

Jean-Michel Blais – II

Alex Kozobolis – Weightless